jump to navigation

My return to blogging July 29, 2009

Posted by britishbullblog in General, Personal, Questioning.
trackback

It has been a long time since my last post and this has generally been down to the fact that my life has gone in a whole new direction. My 7 year relationship came to an end, so I moved to a new city, met new people and am now in a new relationship. My father was seriously ill with cancer, but is now in remission and this has made me re-evalute this whole life thing.

I can not work out whether, because life is so short, we should try and ‘achieve’ as much as we can or should we just seek to enjoy the time we have. Are we becoming to programmed to follow the well trodden path of: school > university > job > house > marriage > children > retire?

Are our motivations earlier in life simply a way of preparing for old age. You get on the property ladder to ensure you not living in a council bungolow when you’re 70. You have children to ensure there are people to look after you. You get a decent job to ensure you are not having to survive on a state pension.

I realise that you can gain huge amounts of satisfaction and enjoyment from buying a house, having a family, working in a decent job. I just wonder whether we are less open to individuals opting for an alternative path?

I guess I’m musing on this subject because I’m reaching that stage in life where I ‘should’ be thinking about buying a house, getting married etc etc…and it just seems a little overwhelming.

Anyway, please do share your thoughts.

It’s good to be back.

Comments»

1. Cameron - January 17, 2013

Hi,

I have a quick question about your blog, would you mind emailing me when you get a chance?

Thanks,

Cameron

britishbullblog - June 28, 2015

Hi Cameron

How can I help?


Leave a Reply

